Sow. Cultivate. Bloom.

An online journal of an uprooted life.

Classroom Couture? Really?!

In almost one month I will be welcoming students to my classroom.  My six month hiatus will come to an end.  Naturally, I’ve begun planning now.  No actual lessons, but I’ve got my brain going about the things that make lessons easier to dig into.  Procedures, policies, classroom management.  Things I think the general public isn’t even aware goes into crafting a classroom.  I thought that going into my fifth year I’d have all these things in order and to a large degree, I do.

But every year is different and every year is a chance to reinvent.

In all this preemptive pondering,  I stumbled across a funny website.  The National Education Association’s (NEA) website has some useful articles and I came across an article about establishing a classroom theme for the year.  Now, let me be clear.  I don’t teach below 3rd grade for a reason.  I’ve never been one to be able to handle cutesy contrived confections of rooms or decorated spaces nor temper tantrums, wiggly butts that can’s stay in seats, etc.   Blech.  Puke.  Don’t get me wrong…I do like young children, but fear them in large numbers, for instance, in a classroom.

I digress.

I am not convinced about classroom themes, but I couldn’t help but ponder it once I found a website entitled Classroom Couture.  Maybe I can get behind it.

I present to you, dear small number of readers who are actually keeping up with my geekery, Classroom Couture.  Clicky!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

