Sow. Cultivate. Bloom.

An online journal of an uprooted life.

Opt Out

My decision to leave public schools and ultimately, the country, was very much fueled by a deep desire to work under conditions in which sanctions from standardized testing did not exist.  I longed to know what a learning environment could be like when not running panicked to make Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP).  I still very much wrestle with my decision to opt out all together.

Just before leaving the country I attended the Save Our Schools Conference and March in Washington, D.C.  It was inspiring, eye-opening and filled me with hope.  I met awe-inspiring teachers from around the country, heard the rally cry for fair and equitable schooling and felt encouraged.  At SOS I realized that  the scales are ripe for tipping into existence a new paradigm for public schooling in the U.S.

Consider participating in National Opt Out Day on January 7, 2012.  For more information check out the United Opt Out National website.

Spread the word.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Opt Out

  1. I just graduated with my degree in elementary education and am very nervous about the AYP frenzy….. I commend you on your gumption.

Leave a comment